Australasia’s Rising Stars in Workforce Management Revealed

The Employee Mobility Institute (TEMI) announced the winners of the 2022 Workforce Management Awards, revealing the Australasian businesses leading the way in talent management and ‘new ways of working’ practices.

“Working remotely and flexibly have become the norm in recent years, but there are innovative new trends appearing in the ways these practices are being modelled, and new employee attraction, engagement, retention and wellbeing policies, and technologies, are being created to support them,” TEMI Founder, Deborah de Cerff, said.

“TEMI’s Australasian Workforce Management Awards acknowledge those individuals and businesses who are successfully adapting, innovating and embedding new and different capabilities and solutions within their organisations in response to the new way of working and global talent shortages.”

“Key features of new policies and practices coming to light include controlled flexibility, greater support for preventing and managing mental health issues in the workplace and more consideration for employees’ personal situations, grounded in the context of compliance,” Ms de Cerff said.

“Employees want to work for organisations that care for them as well as those around them – and as more organisations adopt humanitarian activities in their roles as corporate citizens, we’ve seen an increasing number of organisations embracing skilled refugees in their talent mobility programs to address talent shortages as well.”

“Amidst all of this change, priorities and metrics remain in a state of flux as practitioners unfreeze, change and freeze again and new technologies and equitable frameworks are playing critical roles in good workforce management.”

The 2022 award winners

Employee Engagement:

New Way of Working Mobility Partner
Amanda Beazley, Accenture
Nominated for implementing a new way of working initiative to tap into skilled refugee talent pools previously unexplored.
Accenture was the first company in the world to secure a work visa for a stateless person.

Outstanding Contribution to Emergency Management
Eva Tanner, Westpac
Nominated for crisis management during the COVID-19 outbreak in PNG.
Eva and Westpac’s Global Mobility team overcame significant obstacles to address business continuity concerns and support employees during evacuation.

Best Mobile Workforce Wellbeing Initiative
David Begovich, Trudy Raine and Vivien Wong, Woodside Energy – Projects Function
Nominated for implementing a proactive, consistent, and ongoing mental health support program for international assignees.
This innovative new initiative reversed the traditional Employee Assistance Program, which was reactive and timebound in nature.
Business Advancement:

Best Mobile Workforce Innovation
Katie Barbato, Commonwealth Bank of Australia (CBA)
Nominated for implementing a new International Working from Home Procedure and developing supporting technology to handle associated requests, to enable employees to work from home in a country where they have citizenship or permanent residency.

Best Mobile Workforce Transformation
Caitlin Clarke, Lee Williamson and Tracey Glyde, Curtin University
Nominated for developing the university’s first Overseas Working Arrangements Policy, providing the organisation with a process for easily mobilising its workforce in a compliant manner.
The new policy will support the university’s expansion into new overseas locations.

Leadership Excellence:

Global Mobility Champion of the Year
Ursula Dyer Lepporoli, KPMG Australia
Nominated for fostering collaboration between mobility practitioners and the remote workforce and for contributions to knowledge-sharing.
Most recently, Ursula established an in-person Mobility Meetup series in Melbourne and launched the Mobility Matters industry newsletter.

Global Mobility Team of The Year
Anna Kavelj and the Elite Woodhams Relocation team
Nominated for excellence in client service, supported by the introduction of flexible work, professional development, training, and wellbeing programs.

Partnership of the Year
Peter Ferguson, Iress and Stephanie Cousins, Talent Beyond Boundaries
Nominated for their partnership developed to address talent shortages by working with skilled refugees.


Outstanding Achievement Award
Jonathan Dunlea, Vialto Partners
Nominated for leading the launch of Vialto Partners in 2022.

GMP1® Graduate Excellence Award
Esther Atalla, Atlassian
Nominated for top performance in 2022 Global Mobility Practitioner Certificate training.

Distinguished Service Award
Monique Dawson, EY
Nominated for contributions on the TEMI Taskforce over the past 3 years and as Judging Chair for the Australasian Workforce Management Awards.

Spotlight Awards are awarded by TEMI, to the industry’s rising stars.

The 2022 Australasian Workforce Management Awards Program is sponsored by Quest Apartment Hotels and supported by Cigna International, Grace Corporate Services, Toll Group and Convido Corporate Housing.

Quest Apartment Hotels General Manager of Sales and Marketing, Anthea Dimitrakopoulos, said Quest was thrilled to partner with TEMI to help deliver the TEMI Awards Program again in 2022.

“Quest is proud to support workforce management practitioners in their roles every day, and to acknowledge all that they have achieved over the past year,” Ms Dimitrakopoulos said.

“Quest congratulates the 2022 Australasian Workforce Management Award winners and thanks them for their contributions to our sector.”

Applications for TEMI’s 2023 Australasian Workforce Management Awards open 15 May and close 18 August 2023. All talent mobility and workforce management practitioners and those in partnering supplier industries are encouraged to find out more and apply at

The TEMI Awards Program is made possible with the support of our generous sponsors.

Thank you to our Presenting Partner, Quest Apartment Hotels, Award Sponsors Cigna Toll Group and Grace Corporate Services and Prize Sponsor Convido Corporate Housing.

Share This

Related Posts